Layout design in the classroom

Strangely enough, most universities don’t offer a grand variety of layout design classes. So that leaves me practicing layout design in assignments that don’t actually call for it.

Net-Radio Presentation Flier

College classes call for presentations every once and a while. I usually have a class each semester that’s has a presentation assignment where you’re supposed to work with a partner (see: do it alone after losing patience with other human beings). These situations are the best time to break out the old page layout routine. Handouts are great accompaniments to presentations.

Working with media research

Net-Radio Presentation Flier

College student net-radio audiences. Click the image to open the pdf.

My media research class meets for the second time tomorrow, because we were off once due to holiday. I’ve always been one of those “volunteer to do the project first to get it out of the way” types.

I’m actually kind of impressed by what I managed to put together compared to my older handout designs. The content isn’t the greatest, but who say’s that’s important anyways? I’m happy with the grid and the hierarchy. I think the balance and the flow works and the lines aren’t used too much.

Helvetica and two columns, yikes.

Helvetica and two columns, yikes. To open the pdf, click on the image. But honestly, you don’t have to. I won’t be offended if you abstain.

Historically

The first time I did a handout to accompany a presentation was for a speech class. We had to give an informative speech and we were required to give a handout. That’s when I learned how useful it was to distract your audience from your stuttering. Honestly, when people have something in their hands to look at with tiny type on it, they will forget all about you.

Unfortunately, as far as layout goes, this was absolutely terrible, the aesthetics I mean. (And all that justified text.) And can you say helvetica neue? I like leering at designs from a few years ago because it makes me feel great about the progress I’ve made.

If you look at this, you’ll see it was about reading the news. My informative/persuasive speech was about the benefits of reading the news. Unfortunately I don’t think it was that impactful. The kerning is ridiculously difficult to read. I’d like to redo this flier sometime soon, so keep posted for that.

Philosophically

handout

Marx, Lenin and Goldman. Click the image to open the pdf

The in-between of these two layouts is obviously missing. While I was abroad, I took a class on political philosophy. The only thing is that I realized soon after arriving that standard pages are taller in Europe. No, seriously, go buy a notebook in Europe and compare it to a standard American one, the pages are literally taller.

This kind of threw me off. Another thing that threw me off was not taking any sort of print publishing course for a semester. I did start taking writing classes and began blogging, but I wasn’t actually printing newspapers or magazines with my work in them.

This Marxism/ Lenin / Goldman layout is the aforementioned group project you do alone because you don’t have the patience for other college-aged people. My partner actually backed out last minute and I was left reading the Communist Manifesto all by my lonesome.

Dude, it was more than fine with me because I think I really impressed the professor and my classmates. My presentation was on point, I was prepared and my handout was a smash hit. But here we are again with an awkward 3-column layout.

Ok– I’ve decided I can’t do that anymore for academic literature. I’m going to stick with my cute new 6×7 grid forever until I realize how terrible it is and grow out of it.

Anyways, wish me luck on my presentation on January 27, 2014. Because at approximately 2:10pm, it’s going down and people are getting copies of my most recent handout.

Leave a Reply

