Anonymous confession page liberates Webster University

Webster University recently got a private confessions page. Naturally, it’s the only thing my friends have talked about since it was published. I thought this might be a good occasion for practicing infographics that include numbers.

glimpse

The subject

Internet confession pages allow users to comment publicly on controversial topics. The early days of facebook had honesty box and sites like tumblr integrated anonymity into their messaging features. Facebook pages are springing up to facilitate in letting students’ voices be heard at their university.

Truman’s confession page is at 2,500 likes after being open since February. At the rate Webster’s Confession page is growing, I wouldn’t be surprised if it kept growing at it’s current rate for a while. Maybe we could even get a tumblr/twitter going for it like the Truman one (come on media communications students, GET ON IT ALREADY!).

After hearing about it repeatedly through my comrades, I decided I should try releasing some media on it. (I felt like I’d heard about it for a week, but really it was only 4 days.) Anyways, let’s talk about the infographic!

websterconfesses

Layout explanation

I feel like my last piece (The Fox) was lacking cohesiveness. This one is very clear on what you should read in which order and continuing elements throughout. The human eye typically makes a Z when scanning a web page or graphic, so this uses it to it’s extent. People only wanting the juicy bits (confessions themselves) are led straight to their prey.

I felt like the color choice was obvious: a story about facebook calls for the use of facebook blue. I eyeballed the color instead of looking up the hexadecimal code. I think this tone of blue is a bit more peppy than the standard facebook blue and maybe a bit more interesting.

The fonts I used were a script font and a sans-serif. I stuck to my “no helvetica neue” rule and instead opted to use Helvetica CY, which is a bit taller, slimmer, and comes with an option of bold. I first wanted to use a more loopy script, but after some experimenting, I decided “Technically, But Not Actually” was the font for the situation.

Pros & Cons

If I were doing this piece again, I would introduce another tone. The blue/white/black is really boring. A light gray or light blue could make the piece more interesting. Facebook itself uses a light blue in addition to the standard blue.

The confession bubbles were originally intended to be speech bubbles. I could definitely try making them look more like speech bubbles in the future.

I think this was a successful infographic. But we’ll see what the audience has to say about that. What do you think of the fonts? Use of white space? Leave a comment!

Leave a Reply

